Témoignage

A Nikolskoïe, nous avons interviewé Viktor, né en 1931. L’hôpital psychiatrique Katchenko se trouvait dans le village et employait la majorité de la population locale. Une partie du personnel médical vivait également dans l’enceinte de l’hôpital. Plusieurs médecins, tout comme la directrice de l’hôpital, étaient juifs. Lors de l’arrivée des Allemands, certains villageois ont quitté leur maison pour se réfugier dans les caves de l’hôpital, à l’abri des bombardements. Viktor faisait partie de ces personnes, c’est pourquoi il a pu nous livrer un témoignage très complet sur le sort des patients. Un jour, les Allemands sont arrivés à l’hôpital Katchenko. Ils ont ordonné au personnel médical d’administrer un poison aux patients à l’aide de seringue. D’après Viktor, près de 900 personnes furent ainsi empoisonnées dans les locaux de l’hôpital. Des camions militaires attendaient devant l’hôpital pour emmener les corps à la sortie du village. Les prisonniers de guerre, qui travaillaient à l’hôpital ont dû enterrer les corps. Avant leur retraite, les Allemands ont fait brûler les corps des victimes. Selon Viktor, la directrice de l’hôpital fut emmenée à Gatchina, où ils furent fusillés.

Au terme de 15 jours de recherches, Yahad-In Unum a enregistré 34 témoignages et localisé 14 fosses communes, dont 4 étaient sans monument.

Lieux

Région: Région de Leningrad

Villes et villages investigués: Liuban, Vyritsa, Nikolskoie, Divenskaia, Starosiverskaia, Siverskii, Kurovitsy, Louga, Mchinskaia, Rozhdestveno, Orezdezh, Vassilkovitchi, Gatchina, Kinguissep, Krivitsy, Kouchela, Savinovchtchina, Mga, Pavlovsk, Margus, Ulianovka, Gayanchtchina, Gostilitsy, Nevdoubostroi, Diatiltsy, Choundorovo, Iamkovitsy, Torkovitchi, Lissino-Korpous, Tosno, Romanovka, Krasnoie Selo

Contexte historique

Lors de ce séjour de recherches, l’équipe de Yahad-In Unum a enquêté dans l’actuelle oblast de Leningrad, zone occupée par les Allemands dès l’été 1941 jusqu’à 1944. La ligne de front traversant la région, les mouvements de population furent intenses pendant toute la guerre. Une partie de la population de la région parvint à s’évacuer avant l’arrivée de la Heeresgruppe Nord. Les Juifs restants, qui vivaient principalement à Vyrista, Luga ou encore Liuban furent exécutés dans des fosses communes. Le travail préliminaire dans les archives a permis de collecter des informations sur les exécutions de la population juive, tsigane et russe, l’existence de camp de civils, les camps pour les enfants, les forces en présence ainsi que les camps de prisonniers de guerre.

Conclusions

Lors de ce voyage de recherches, l’équipe de Yahad-In Unum a enregistré des témoignages essentiels sur des différents sujets :

  • Les exécutions de victimes juives, roms et russes
  • L’empoisonnement de malades mentaux
  • La Shoah dans les pays baltes
  • Les sites d’exécution de victimes roms

Related Post

Testimony:

In Nikolskoïe, we interviewed Viktor, born in 1931. The psychiatric hospital, Katchenko, was located in the village and employed the majority of the local population. A group of medical personnel also lived in the hospital’s enclosure. Several doctors, including the director of the hospital, were Jews. During the arrival of the Germans, certain villagers left their house to seek refuge in the hospital’s cellars, in the bomb shelters. Viktor was one of those people; this is why he was able to give us such a complete testimony on the fate of the patients. One day, the Germans arrived at the Katchenko Hospital. They ordered the medical personnel to administer a poison to the children, using a syringe. According to Viktor, nearly 900 people were poisoned in this way in the hospital’s premises. Military trucks waited in front of the hospital to take the bodies to the village’s exit. Prisoners of war, who worked at the hospital, had to bury the bodies. Before their retreat, the Germans burned the bodies of the victims. According to Viktor, the director of the hospital was sent to Gatchina, where they were shot.

At the end of 15 days of research, Yahad-In Unum had recorded 34 testimonies and identified 14 mass graves, 4 of which did not have a monument.

Places:

Region: Leningrad Region

Towns and villages investigated:

Liuban, Vyritsa, Nikolskoie, Divenskaia, Starosiverskaia, Siverskii, Kurovitsy, Louga, Mchinskaia, Rozhdestveno, Oredezh, Vassilkovitchi, Gatchina, Kinguissep, Krivitsy, Kouchela, Savinovchtchina, Mga, Pavlovsk, Margus, Ulianovka, Gayanchtchina, Gostilitsy, Nevdoubostroi, Diatiltsy, Choundorovo, Iamkovitsy, Torkovitchi, Lissino-Korpous, Tosno, Romanovka, Krasnoie Selo

Historical context

During this research trip, the Yahad-In Unum team investigated in the present-day district of Leningrad, a zone occupied by the Germans from the summer of 1941 until 1944. The front line crossed the region and consequently, the movements of the population were intense throughout the war. A part of the population succeeded in evacuating before the arrival of the Heeresgruppe Nord. The remaining Jews, who mainly lived in Vyrista, Luga or even Liuban were executed in mass graves. The preliminary work in the archives enabled us to collect information on the executions of the Jewish, Gypsy and Russian populations, the existence of civilian camps, camps for children, the forces present as well as prisoner of war camps.

Key Findings

During this research trip, the Yahad-In Unum team recorded crucial testimonies on different subjects:

  • The executions of Jewish, Roma and Russian victims
  • The poisoning of the mentally ill
  • The Holocaust in the Baltic countries
  • The execution sites of the Roma victims

 

Related Post