Avant la guerre, près d’un million de Juifs habitait sur le territoire de l’actuelle Biélorussie. Dès le début de l’occupation, les Allemands commencèrent à exécuter les Juifs, l’intelligentsia et les activistes soviétiques. La création des ghettos était fréquemment accompagnée de fusillades. Mais les plus grandes fusillades de masse eurent lieu lors de la liquidation des ghettos, surtout entre avril 1942 et l’hiver 1942/1943. Le dernier ghetto de Biélorussie, situé à Minsk, fut liquidé en octobre 1943.

Par ailleurs, de nombreux Juifs, notamment des spécialistes, étaient détenus et forcés de travailler dans des camps de travail (Lida, Ivié, Chtchoutchine, Novogroudok). Ils furent assassinés quelques temps plus tard. Dans le cadre de leur politique d’extermination, les nazis déportèrent des milliers de Juifs de Lida et de Minsk dans les camps de concentration à l’Ouest.

Suite à l’amplification des mouvements de partisans, particulièrement actifs dans la région, les Allemands accélèrent le processus d’extermination des Juifs, et massacrèrent également des milliers de civils biélorusses, brûlant et détruisant à jamais des villages entiers.

Map of Jewish execution sites in Belarus


Before the war, almost one million Jews lived in the territory of present-day Belarus. From the beginning of the occupation, the Germans began to execute the Jews, the intelligentsia and the Soviet activists. The creation of ghettos was frequently accompanied by shootings. But the largest mass shootings took place during the liquidation of the ghettos, especially between April of 1942 and the winter of 1942/1943. The last ghetto in Belarus, located in Minsk, was liquidated in October of 1943.

In addition, many Jews, including specialists, were detained and forced to work in labor camps (Lida, Ivie, Chtchoutchine, Novogrudok). They were murdered some time later. As part of their policy of extermination, the Nazis deported thousands of Jews from Minsk and Lida to concentration camps in the West.

Following the amplification of the partisan movements, particularly active in the region, the Germans accelerated the process of exterminating the Jews, and also massacred thousands of Belorussian civilians, burning and destroying whole villages.

 

Yahad’s Investigations

So far, Yahad-In Unum has interviewed 917 witnesses in Belarus and located 405 sites of execution.

Learn more about our fieldwork in the country through our individual investigation reports.

Learn about the Holocaust by Bullets in individual villages in Belarus through our interactive map.