Témoignage:

“À Novosselytsia, où plus de 10 000 Juifs habitaient avant la guerre, l’équipe de Yahad – In Unum a réussi à interviewer le dernier survivant juif de la guerre. Mendel est né en 1926. Son témoignage est saisissant et difficile à écouter mais important historiquement. Toute sa famille a été tuée dans des camps lors de la déportation, il a enterré sa mère et il a vu sa future femme se faire violer par une dizaine de soldats dans la grange. Mendel raconte : « Dès l’arrivée des Allemands et des Roumains pendant 24 heures ils tuaient, violaient, pillaient les Juifs. Ma famille se cachait dans un potager. J’ai vu ma grand-mère blessée, elle rampait au milieu de la cour et criait : « Achève-moi, Mendel! Achève-moi! ».

Au terme de cette mission de recherches, l’équipe de Yahad – In Unum a répertorié 17 sites d’exécution et interrogé 43 témoins.

Lieux

Région: Région de Tchernivtsi

Villes et villages investigués: Kolinkivtsi, Malintsi, Chylivtsi, Vaslovivtsi, Tchornivka, Khotyn, Boïany, Zarojany, Dankivtsi, Anadoly, Novodnistrovsk, Ojeve, Lomatchyntsi, Iasseni, Sokyriany, Chypyntsi, Loujany, Mamalyga, Kochouliany, Zelena, Marchyntsi, Novosselytsia, Velykyï Koutchouriv, Dratchyntsi, Novi Dratchyntsi, Iourkivtsi, Boïantchouk

Contexte historique

Les premières enquêtes menées par l’équipe de Yahad – In Unum dans les villages de la région ont démontré l’extermination de la population juive dès les premiers jours d’occupation et, parfois même, avant l’arrivée des soldats. Le fait commun réapparaît souvent dans une grande majorité des localités enquêtées : les Juifs étaient accusés des agressions et des attaques sur les soldats roumains lors de leur retrait en 1940 ce qui sert de prétexte des pogroms et des fusillades.

Conclusions

L’investigation de l’équipe de Yahad-In Unum dans cette partie de l’Ukraine représente quelques spécificités:

– le territoire était sous l’occupation germano-roumaine pendant la guerre;

– les pogroms de la population juive dès les premiers jours de la guerre;


– les déplacement des Juifs 2-4 semains après le début de la guerre;

– les fusillades précoces isolées et de masse, souvent sans fosse.

Related Post

Testimony:

“In Novosselytsia, where more than 10,000 Jews lived before the war, the Yahad-In Unum team succeeded in interviewing the last Jewish survivor of the war. Mendel was born in 1926.His whole family was killed in the camps during the deportation, he buried his mother and he saw his future wife being raped by a dozen soldiers in a barn. Mendel recounted: “From the arrival of the Germans and the Romanians, for 24 hours, they killed, raped and stole from the Jews. My family was hiding in a vegetable garden. I saw my grandmother wounded, she crawled to the middle of the courtyard and shouted: ‘Finish me off, Mendel! Finish me off!’”.

 

At the end of 14 days of research in Ukraine, the Yahad-In Unum team had investigated in 27 towns and villages in the Tchernivtsi region. This goal of this research trip was to start investigating in this border region with Romania and Moldova. At the end of this research trip, the Yahad-In Unum team had identified 17 execution sites and questioned 43 witnesses.

 

Places:

Region: Tchernivtsi Region
Towns and villages investigated:
Kolinkivtsi, Malintsi, Chylivtsi, Vaslovivtsi, Tchornivka, Khotyn, Boïany, Zarojany, Dankivtsi, Anadoly, Novodnistrovsk, Ojeve, Lomatchyntsi, Iasseni, Sokyriany, Chypyntsi, Loujany, Mamalyga, Kochouliany, Zelena, Marchyntsi, Novosselytsia, Velykyï Koutchouriv, Dratchyntsi, Novi Dratchyntsi, Iourkivtsi, Boïantchouk


Historical Context:

The first investigations led by the Yahad-In Unum team in the villages in the region revealed that the extermination of the Jewish population took place from the first days of the occupation and sometimes even before the arrival of the soldiers. This common statement often appeared during the local investigations: the Jews were accused of aggressions and attacks on Romanian soldiers during their retreat in 1940, which served as a pretext for the pogroms and shootings.

 

Key Findings:

The Yahad-In Unum team’s investigation in this part of Ukraine revealed several specificities:

– The territory was under German-Romanian occupation during the war;
– The pogroms of the Jewish population from the first days of the war;
– The deportation of Jews 2-4 weeks after the beginning of the war;
– Isolated and mass shootings, often without a grave.

 

 

Related Post